Six Historians in Search of Alltagsgeschichte

in Aspasia
Author:
Maria BucurIndiana University mbucur@indiana.edu

Search for other papers by Maria Bucur in
Current site
Google Scholar
PubMed
Close
,
Rayna GavrilovaSt. Kliment Ohridski University of Sofia r.gavrilova@ceetrust.org

Search for other papers by Rayna Gavrilova in
Current site
Google Scholar
PubMed
Close
,
Wendy GoldmanCarnegie Mellon University goldman@andrew.cmu.edu

Search for other papers by Wendy Goldman in
Current site
Google Scholar
PubMed
Close
,
Maureen HealyLewis and Clark College healy@lclark.edu

Search for other papers by Maureen Healy in
Current site
Google Scholar
PubMed
Close
,
Kate LebowUniversity of Virginia lebow@virginia.edu

Search for other papers by Kate Lebow in
Current site
Google Scholar
PubMed
Close
, and
Mark PittawayThe Open University M.D.Pittaway@open.ac.uk

Search for other papers by Mark Pittaway in
Current site
Google Scholar
PubMed
Close
Restricted access

It is not the first time a journal is attempting a livelier format of intellectual exchange among academic specialists in the history of Russia/the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe. But it is the first time that specialists working on questions of gender in Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe are coming together to discuss a theme, theory and methodology issue together in this fashion, across a vast area and a very rich and differentiated scholarship. My interest in generating this dialogue is connected to my graduate training in the early 1990s, which came at a point when the social history of Eastern Europe was starting to gain new dimensions, linked to oral history and to the evanescent everyday life field that was gaining an important foothold at that time through the work of Alf Lüdtke and a group of social historians and historical sociologists working at University of Michigan and a few other institutions at that time. I was also becoming interested in gender as a category of historical analysis and found the Alltagsgeschichte approach embraced by this group of scholars particularly conducive to making gender topics visible and relevant in historical research and writing.

  • Collapse
  • Expand