Book Reviews

in Transfers
View More View Less
  • 1 Maastricht University m.stoffers@maastrichtuniversity.nl
  • 2 University of East London blake@walkexchange.org
  • 3 Auburn University adm0027@auburn.edu
  • 4 Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam Y.saramifar@vu.nl
  • 5 Kyushu University andrew.cobbing@nottingham.ac.uk
  • 6 Uppsala University martin.emanuel@ekhist.uu.se
  • 7 Pitzer College rudi_volti@pitzer.edu
  • 8 University of Minnesota caitlin.cohn@gmail.com
  • 9 Trinity College Dublin cleahy@tcd.ie
  • 10 Auburn University sls0009@auburn.edu
Restricted access

Contributor Notes

Manuel Stoffers is an assistant professor at the Department of History of Maastricht University. He has published on (Dutch) cycling history in the Journal of Transport History, Mobility in History, and the Low Countries Historical Review. E-mail: m.stoffers@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Blake Morris is a postgraduate researcher at the University of East London focused on walking as an artistic medium. He cofounded the Walk Exchange in New York City and is the research assistant for the Walking Artists Network. E-mail: blake@walkexchange.org

Alan Meyer teaches aviation history and history of technology at Auburn University. He is the author of Weekend Pilots: Technology, Masculinity, and Private Aviation in Postwar America (2015). E-mail: adm0027@auburn.edu

Younes Saramifar is a research fellow at the Department of Anthropology of Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. He works on notions of resilience among refugees while pursuing a larger project on the politics of memory in the Middle East. E-mail: Y.saramifar@vu.nl

Andrew Cobbing has taught at Kyushu University and is now based in Nottingham. His publications include Kyushu: Gateway to Japan (2009), and he is the editor of Hakata: The Cultural Worlds of Northern Kyushu (2013). E-mail: andrew.cobbing@nottingham.ac.uk

Martin Emanuel is a historian of technology working at Uppsala University, Sweden. His research focuses on the history of cycling in European cities. He recently coedited Cycling Cities: The European Experience: Hundred Years of Policy and Practice (2016). E-mail: martin.emanuel@ekhist.uu.se

Rudi Volti is an emeritus professor of sociology at Pitzer College in Claremont, CA. The author of Cars and Culture: The Biography of a Technology, he has spent a fair amount of time prowling around automobile and motorcycle junkyards. E-mail: rudi_volti@pitzer.edu

Caitlin Starr Cohn completed her PhD in design at the University of Minnesota in 2016. Her dissertation considered women’s dress in transatlantic cycling culture from 1868–1900. E-mail: caitlin.cohn@gmail.com

Caitríona Leahy is a lecturer in German and the head of the Department of Germanic Studies at Trinity College Dublin. Her research interests are in the interdisciplinary spaces between contemporary philosophy and cultural production. E-mail: leahy@tcd.ie

Sunny Stalter-Pace is an associate professor in the English Department at Auburn University. Her first book, Underground Movement: Modern Culture on the New York City Subway, was published by the University of Massachusetts Press in 2013. E-mail: sls0009@auburn.edu Twitter: @slstalter

Transfers

Interdisciplinary Journal of Mobility Studies

Metrics

All Time Past Year Past 30 Days
Abstract Views 182 182 45
Full Text Views 100 100 0
PDF Downloads 0 0 0