Search Results

You are looking at 1 - 6 of 6 items for :

  • Refine by Access: All content x
  • Refine by Content Type: Articles x
Clear All Modify Search
Open access

The 2020 paradox

A multisystem crisis in search of a comprehensive response

Aleida Azamar Alonso and Carmen Maganda Ramírez

notable exceptions such as those already mentioned in Bolivia and Ecuador ( Mila & Yánez, 2020 ). Economic growth is generally considered the main objective and measure of value of the level of success of a country, which is not always reflected in the

Open access

Harlan Koff and Carmen Maganda

thousand people have perished from COVID-19 as well as in Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, and Peru, among other countries ( Parkin Daniels, 2021 ). Many observers, such as Ernesto Vivares (2021) have noted that the impacts of COVID-19 on the region have

Restricted access

Shobita Parthasarathy

complete monopolies over important technologies like medicines. In the case of COVID-19, Canada, Germany, Chile, and Ecuador have also already amended their patent laws to ensure rapid compulsory licensing of any tests, treatments, or vaccines if necessary

Restricted access

Latin America and COVID-19

Political Rights and Presidential Leadership to the Test

Brigitte Weiffen

restricted worldwide in the name of fighting the pandemic. Reasonable precaution allowed leaders to institute extraordinary measures that disable basic democratic mechanisms. Latin America is no exception. The imposition of curfews (such as in Chile, Ecuador

Restricted access

Marcos S. Scauso, Garrett FitzGerald, Arlene B. Tickner, Navnita Chadha Behera, Chengxin Pan, Chih-yu Shih, and Kosuke Shimizu

coronavirus itself—as part of a vibrant ecology indicated by many strains of indigenous (and more recently, post-humanist) thought. Several countries, such as Ecuador and Bolivia, have already expanded notions of citizenship to include “nature” as an equal

Open access

Carlos A. Rodríguez Wallenius

Morales en Bolivia (2006–2019), de Rafael Correa en Ecuador (2007–2017), de Néstor Kirchner y Cristina Fernández en Argentina (2003–2015), de Luis Ignacio Lula da Silva y Dilma Rousseff en Brasil (2003–2016), de Tabaré Vázquez (2005–2010) y José Mújica